Skip to content

Food Challenge: As Seen In The SunTimes….

March 19, 2011

My experience with Put Food in the Budget has drawn to an end.

I didn’t cheat per se; above and beyond what was allotted, I consumed only half a red pepper that was already in my possession and which was going mushy.  Challenge or no challenge, I will not throw out food.  I even insist on saving onion skins, potato peels and broccoli stumps to make broth (pop ’em in a Ziploc, toss ’em in the freezer.  If you need advice on the boiling down of veggie scraps, I can provide it).  Here are some notes on the experience.

To find my conclusions, one need only read the posts I left on our local Put Food in the Budget Posterous board, or read the Owen Sound SunTimes article from Thursday, March 17, Push on for province to get healthy food to those who use food bank.  (I note with some pleasure that in the paper I’ve been quoted both by name and as WunderNutbar.)

No, I didn’t get faint.  Didn’t collapse at my desk.  Didn’t discernibly mess up my insulin levels or glycemic index.  Or did I?  My metabolism is so slow from the psych meds I’m on that it’s hard to tell.  I could likely go down to 1800 kcal a day and still not lose weight.  And my mood is so volatile lately I can’t tell if this hypomanic nonsense is attributable to the awful quality of the food, or just my all-round nuttiness.

All I can say is, I’m glad it’s over.  It hasn’t been much of a stretch from what I–and some others who took the challenge–have endured in the past.  But I think we made our point.

PS: Okay, so I fried one egg yesterday.  But to compensate, I did not consume the canned turkey.  That actually came to about 50 fewer kcal….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

