Skip to content

Anatomy of a Box of KD

March 15, 2011

Chew on this!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 12:30 pm

    Richard,

    Once, when I weighed 242 lbs. (Yes, true, honest.) I hate to admit this, but I like this stuff. I hated myself in those days. It filled a huge void in my gut and my soul. It was fast. It was mindless. It was cheap. I was very sick. Now, I am insulin resistant. Carbs kill me. Not fruits or vegetables, but white flour carbs. Anything white except fat free, Greek yoghurt.

    Once, when I was such an emotional mess ~ this stuff was comfort. Now, it’s poison. Do they ever make it with whole wheat noodles? Hah. Too healthy, I suspect. Not modified enough. Nothing whole.

    Wholistic? …..

    Great post.

    xox
    s

  2. March 15, 2011 4:48 pm

    Sandy,

    You bet there’s a KD “Whole Wheat”! Yeah, they thought of everything. Even a KD “Smart” (named without irony!) that contains dehydrated cauliflower “…so your kids won’t even know they’re eating vegetables”! There’s 1/2 a Canada Food Guide serving of cauli in each 3/4 cup portion of KD Smart. Now, how much is 1/2 a veggie serving? For cauliflower, that amounts to 1/4 cup. As the kids say, “What-everrrrrrr!”

    • March 16, 2011 3:52 am

      You know, it’s easier to bake cauliflower and so delicious and healthy, than embed it in KD.

      All you do is preheat your oven to 500 degrees, cut up a head of fresh cauliflower in golf-ball size flowerettes and toss them them in a bowl with olive oil and a pinch or two of salt. Then spread on an shallow aluminum pan, sprinkle generously with cumin and bake until toasty and brown. Not too dark.

      The mixture of olive oil, salt, pepper and cumin brings out the natural sweetness of the cauliflower and this is one of my husband’s favourite dishes. I do roughly the same with Brussel sprouts and all kinds of fresh vegetables, including broccoli and asparagus (for a shorter period of time). Nothing modified. It’s easy and so yummy.

      And healthy.

      Keep up the good work, Richard.

      xox
      s

      • March 16, 2011 7:38 am

        Goodness, Sandy! ~

        That’s my *favourite* way of prepping cauli!!!! I also do something similar with brussels sprouts!

        Preheat oven to 350. Cut the sprouts in half from crown to butt, toss in a bowl with a little bit of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, sea salt and ground pepper, then spread on a baking sheet flat sides up. Cook until the top surface starts to brown (at least 20 mins) then flip to let the flat sides scorch a little bit (yes–I said scorch just a little bit!). You can par-boil them in advance if you want to speed cooking and fear burning them. Toast some almonds or sesame seeds in a dry skillet, top, and serve….

        OMG….

        <3

        Rick

  3. March 18, 2011 3:57 pm

    Dear sweet Richard,

    I’m going to try your Brussels tonight.

    Delish!

    xox
    thanks
    s

Leave a Reply

