Skip to content

Housekeeping, and Heartfelt Thanks!

February 16, 2011

Today, my job was to begin streamlining this.  And so I did, so I did.  I’ve begun the process of trimming the fat and making the lot more legible and accessible.  It’s all part of the process of… branding!

Ah, yes!  Most important in this day and age.  You are only as good as your by-line, as someone told me recently–recently being last night, and that someone being the inimitable and irrepressible Sandy Naiman, who writes the blog Coming Out Crazy on PsychCentral.

When Sandy speaks, you listen.  You can’t help it.  She’s passionate, committed, wise, and experienced.  And she has no time for half measures: she tells it like it is.  We had the most remarkable phone conversation (and I hate the phone!), one lasting several hours, during which she addressed a lot of the issues faced by yours truly as a neophyte blogger.

My biggest whoopsie?  Until today, at no point did this blog even have my name on it!  Such a policy would perhaps work for a diarist wishing to remain cloaked in emboldening anonymity–but for an activist… well, duh!  This, I assure you, was an oversight.  But alas, one of the many things in plain view I tend to have difficulty seeing….  This having been fixed, I shall shortly begin to address other things.

So big thanks to Sandy for making contact with me, for her advice, but most of all for her compassion and her belief in me.  She figures I can take WunderNutbar places, and who I am I to doubt it?  I know that she will be a source of information, advice, support and empathy as I travel this brambly cow path of a career.  I’m glad to have made a new friend, a true friend!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 7:37 pm

    Dearest Richard….

    When one looks hard enough, one finds what one is looking for. I did find you name, somewhat obscurely nestled on the “about” page of your other blog called My artsy-fartsy stuff to which I would like to link but cannot, here. It’s just to the right of this comment.

    Your humility knows no bounds, my extraordinary new friend.

    More is coming. Lots more.

    Thank you for this extraordinary “shout-out” as your kind words and links are called. I did the same for you in a comment last night and will continue to do so as your many gifts begin to unfold to me.

    As I said last night… in the wee sma’s… “this is the beginning of a new journey” and we’re kindred spirits, not just fellow travellers.

    Hugs and must run.
    xoxox
    You are doing so well. I am so excited for you.
    sln

    • February 17, 2011 2:47 am

      Thanks again, Sandy!

      I now have an actual byline, and my name is in the title of the blog, so that a Google search of either term should bring the blog up….

      I’m thinking of a wholesale reorganization of this, with my own domain….

  2. February 18, 2011 11:31 pm

    My dear Richard-Yves Sitoski ~

    As I said on my comment on my blog to you, I apologize profusely for misspelling of your surname. Both in my address book, where you had two (2) listings, and in my comment about you. I even got the Yves wrong. I had it as Ives. What was I thinking? Burl Ives????

    Bravo. Mazel Tov. Kudos. And congrats on adding your “by-line” to this inspirational, powerful and empowering “emotional” health (as I prefer, rather than “mental”) and social justice blog, which now pops up on Google as “WunderNutBar’s Blog by Richard-Yves Sitoski” ~ you’re really out there now, my kindred spirit and soul mate friend. As they say in print journalism circles, or used to say ~ “you’re only as good as your last by-line.” Somehow, that doesn’t seem to make much sense anymore. On the blogosphere nothing every goes away and everything we write has a life-long shelf-life. Eeeeeeek!!!

    Please forgive me for those two misspellings. In print journalism, again, as I was trained ~ when you misspell someone’s name, you’re essentially writing about either a) someone who doesn’t exist, or b) someone else.

    I was very tired when you shared that information. Now, as George Bernard Shaw’s Eliza Doolittle might say in Pygmalion, “I got it right.” Remember Margaret Mead, who said, “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.”

    That’s you, Rick. Keep up the fight. Passionate, persistent and prolific voices like yours, in print, in poetry, on the blogosphere and in person ~ in a cafe ~ anywhere, out there, change the world. I’m thrilled that your name is out there, too. It’s about time.

    “The best is yet to come.”

    Hugs,
    xox
    s

    Forgive the reprint of some of this material, but I wanted your readers to be sure to know how utterly extraordinary you are. I feel, in discovering you, I found a hidden and now not-so-hidden treasure (for me) ~ you really are a gem and I’m looking forward to meeting you. Owen Sound has so many treasures. You and Zoë Kessler, my sister blogger at PsychCentral. (Why can I not link in these comments?)

    Be well. Sleep well. Take care of yourself. Fight the good fight. And have a wonderful meantime… until next time.
    s

Leave a Reply

